Miami will play host to Conservatives International’s first regional conference; gathering pro-market advocates from the Americas, and beyond. Participants will discover the successes of free trade as a means of poverty alleviation, conflict resolution and social justice; and explore the hopes for its global progress.


After the events of 2016, there is no better time to establish Conservatives International as a platform for discussion of the liberal reforms our world needs to end poverty across the globe.

After Brexit, Trump victory and a definitive ‘No’ to the referendum in Colombia; international trade, security and the role of society during elections are important topics for discussion in order to better understand what is to occur in the coming years.


Conservatives International is a flagship initiative of:

The Miami Conference is supported by the following partners:

AT&TCompetitive Enterprise InstituteVision RepublicaFundación FAESAtlas Network The Institute for Free Trade
American Freedom AllianceCentro de Análisis de Políticas PúblicasNetwork for a Free SociatyInstitute for Liberty and DemocracyAmericans for Tax ReformProperty Rights Alliance
Free To Choose NetworkFundacion Crear FuturoCuba Decide PANAL Centro de EmprendimientoAlliance Defending Freedom Red Floridablanca
Center for a Secure Free Society The Euro-Gulf Information CentrePanAm PostThe Daily SignalPragerUThe Diplomat Beach Resort


Please download PDF brochure with sponsorship info:


There will also be the opportunity to explore Miami. Our venue, the Hotel Diplomat, is beautifully situated between the Atlantic Ocean and the Intracoastal Waterway.


Rick Scott

Governor of Florida, US

José María Aznar

Prime Minister of Spain 1996-2004

Jorge Quiroga

President of Bolivia 2001-2002

Jason Kenney

Canadian Minister for Multiculturalism 2008-2015

Iván Duque

Colombian Senator, Centro Democrático

Daniel Hannan

Secretary General of ACRE & Member of the European Parliament, UK

Hernando de Soto

Peruvian economist President of the Institute for Liberty and Democracy

Jan Zahradil

President of ACRE & Vice-Chair of European Parliament International Trade Committee, Czechia

Tomasz Poręba

President of New Direction and Member of the European Parliament, Poland

Ben Murray Bruce

Senator, Beyelsa State, Nigeria

Bob Chitester

Chairman, President and CEO of Free To Choose Network, US

Carlos Alberto Montaner

Cuban author and journalist

Daniel Raisbeck

Editor PanAM Post

Eduardo Marty

President of Fundacion para Responsabilidad Intelectual

Felipe Bosch

President of Guatemala Development Foundation

Fred Smith

Director of Center for Advancing Capitalism. Founder of CEI

Gabriel Calzada

Rector of the Francisco Marroquín University, Spain

Gabriela Ortiz Pozo

Founder of IYDU Women’s Network

Gloria Álvarez

Movimiento Cívico Nacional. Guatemala

Grover Norquist

President of the Americans for tax Reform, US

Guy Milliere

Fellow, American Freedom Alliance, US

Horace Chang

Minister for Water, Works and Housing, Jamaica

Ian Murray

Vice President for Strategy, CEI

Isabel Benjumea

Director Of Floridablanca

Javier Zarzalejos

Secretary General of FAES

Javier Fernández-Lasquetty

Madrid Regional Minister for Health 2010-2014

Joe Azel

Scholar at the University of Miami's Institute for Cuban & Cuban American Studies

John L. Hancock

Senior Fellow, American Freedom Alliance, US

Karim Antonio Lesina

Vice President of AT&T for International External, European Union, Caribbean, Central and Latin America, and Trans-Atlantic Relations

Kent Lassman

President and CEO of the Competitive Enterprise Institute

Lee Hye Hoon

MP, South Korea

Linda Whetstone

Atlas Network, Chairman, UK

Lord Callanan

Minister for Transport, UK

Lorenzo Montanari

Executive Director of Property Rights Alliance

Luis Henrique Ball

Publisher of PanAM Post

Marcel Granier

President and CEO of Empresas 1BC and the General Director of Radio Caracas Televisión

Mike Gonzalez

Senior fellow at the Kathryn and Shelby Cullom Davis Institute for International Studies

Naweed Khan

Executive Director, New Direction Foundation, UK

Oscar Haza

Anchor Channel 22

Paloma Valencia

Colombian Senator, Centro Democrático. Colombia

Rodrigo Arenas

Presidente Movimiento Cívico Nacional. Guatemala

Rosa María Payá

Co-Founder Cuba Decide, Cuba

Steven Woolfe

Member of the European Parliament

Thierry Baudet

Member of the Parliament and President of Forum voor Democratie, Netherlands

Víctor Bisonó

Dominican Republic MP


Friday 26th May
10:00- 12:00
Hall 1

​Next Generation

Great Hall

Opening of the Conference by Rick Scott, Governor of Florida

Great Hall

Launching of Conservatives International by Daniel Hannan

Great Hall

Winning with minority voters by Jason Kenney

Liberty Terrace

Freedom Reception* hosted by Competitive Enterprise Institute

Keynote Speaker: Kent Lassman, President and CEO of the Competitive Enterprise Institute

Saturday 27th May
Great Hall

Liberty and Property VS 21st Century Socialism in Latin America by Jorge Quiroga

Great Hall

Special Keynote: Visión Republica against Socialism of 21st Century by Gloria Álvarez

Great Hall

How Conservatives can end poverty by Hernando de Soto

South Palm Court

Liberty Dinner* hosted by AT&T

Keynote Speaker: José María Aznar, Former Primer Minister of Spain


Please download PDF brochure:

Conservatives International is a flagship initiative of ACRE. The ACRE is recognised and partially funded by the European Parliament. The views expressed on this website do not necessarily reflect those of the European Parliament. The European Parliament cannot be held liable.