Kampala will play host to the Great Lakes Trade Summit, a gathering of politicians, businesses and pro-market advocates from Europe, East Africa, and beyond. The Summit will explore the vast opportunities for greater trade and investment with the region; and make the ethical case for free trade as a means of poverty alleviation, conflict resolution and social justice.


At a time when globalisation is being contested
 by an organised anti-market movement, the Great Lakes Trade Summit will offer a platform for those dedicated to making a positive case for the alternative: a popular conservatism that works for the individual, not the corporates.

This conference is an initiative of the Alliance of Conservatives and Reformists in Europe (ACRE), who recognise that the European Union’s protectionist trade policies have often stunted the ability of third countries to add value. This needs to change. Following the Brexit vote, the time is ripe for reform, toward a Europe that advances global 
free trade with confidence.


Conservatives International is a flagship initiative of:

Great Lakes Trade Summit is supported by the following partners:

JCBTradeMark East AfricaAfreximbankEast Africa Policy CentreMadhvani Group
Tropics of TeaIYOPCPSUsafi Comfort Ltd.Uhuru Initiative for Policy and Education
Students for LibertyOpportunity InternationalEGICKEPSASasare Associates
IMGBBAUHYUK Asian Business CouncilSpeke Resort


Please download PDF brochure with sponsorship info:


The Speke Resort, Munyonyo, is a premier venue situated on the shores of Lake Victoria. Various high quality platforms for commercial exposure will be offered, including an Exhibition Centre, Policy Roundtables and Gala Meals.


Rory Stewart

Minister for Foreign & Commonwealth Affairs, & International Development, UK

Evelyn Anite

Minister of State for Finance (Investment & Privatisation), Uganda

Jan Zahradil

President of ACRE & Vice-Chair of European Parliament International Trade Committee, Czechia

June Arunga Kimani

Founder & CEO, Usafi Comfort Ltd., Kenya

Daniel Hannan

Secretary General of ACRE & Member of the European Parliament, UK

William Kalema

Managing Partner, BDO Uganda

Richard Kamajugo

Senior Director, TradeMark East Africa, Kenya

Agatha Juma

Head of Public Private Dialogue, Kenya Private Sector Alliance

Albert Saltson

CEO, Standard Chartered Uganda

Anna Fotyga

Chair of European Parliament Security & Defence Sub-Committee & Vice-President of ACRE, Poland

Barbara Mulwana

Chair, Uganda Manufacturers Association

Ben Murray Bruce

Senator, Beyelsa State, Nigeria

Brian Sturgess

Chief Economist, World Economics

Christopher Okidi

Chairman, Interparty Youth Platform, Uganda

Douglas Carswell

Author & co-founder of Vote Leave, UK

Elly Twineyo Kamugisha

Executive Director, Uganda Export Promotion Board

Freeman Mbowe

Member of Parliament, Leader of the Opposition, CHADEMA, Tanzania

Hrishi Madhvani

Director, Madhvani Group of Companies, Uganda

Isack Danford

Executive Director, Uhuru Initiative for Policy & Education, Tanzania

Jacqueline Musiitwa

CEO, Financial Services Deepening, Uganda

James Wharton

Minister for International Development 2016-17, UK

Keith Boyfield

Research Fellow, Centre for Policy Studies & Senior Fellow, Euro-Gulf Information Centre, Italy

Linda Kavuka

Member of Executive Board, African Students for Liberty, Kenya

Michael Rotich

Executive Director, Eastern Africa Policy Centre, Kenya

Nathan Nandala-Mafabi

Member of Parliament, Bugisu Cooperative Union Chair, Uganda

Naweed Khan

Executive Director, New Direction Foundation, UK

Oni Oviri

Founding Director, Sasare Associates & Tropics of Tea, UK

John Magnay

Head of Agricultural Finance, Opportunity International


Friday 14th July

Great Lakes Trade Summit launch by Daniel Hannan MEP






Closing keynote: Hon. Evelyn Anite


Sundowner Drinks, by Conservatives International


Gala Dinner, with Interparty Youth Platform (IYOP), shores of Lake Victoria

Conservatives International is a flagship initiative of ACRE. The ACRE is recognised and partially funded by the European Parliament. The views expressed on this website do not necessarily reflect those of the European Parliament. The European Parliament cannot be held liable.